Who Am I? That is a Good Question…

Dear Friends,
Happy Friday! 
Every year, Photogrpahy 1 students have to do the “Who Am I” project.  It is MAJOR: famous, difficult, and sometimes dreaded. What is it? Five photographs and an essay that describe who you are in Christ. One really has to dig deep. I really wanted my photographs to have some sort of connection and flow, to not be simply random and discombobulated thoughts. It was a lot of work. Eventually, I realized all my ideas had a theme – semi-not-really-at-all-obscure biblical references! I am an ambassador, a pilgrim/sojourner, a sinner like Gomer, washed white as snow, and am Lydia Francis/Imago Dei.  Here are my five photographs + the paragraphs that went with them.
When I began to contemplate my vision for the famous “Who Am I” project, I was completely stumped.  Every idea that popped into my head was insignificant, but God does not think that any of his creations are insignificant.  Matthew 6:30 says that God clothes even the grass of the field.  I have written my “Who Am I” project as a prayer. Why? Because my identity and my whole self belongs to the Lord Jesus Christ, and everything I do should glorify him.
 Dear Lord,
You tell us through Paul in 2 Corinthians 5:20, “Therefore, we are ambassadors for Christ, God making his appeal through us.” Webster’s dictionary defines ambassador as “a diplomatic agent of the highest rank accredited to a foreign government or sovereign as the resident representative of his own government or sovereign.” Lord, you have called us to be your ambassadors, representing the kingdom of heaven and all it stands for to the country where you have placed us as resident and to the nations.  Since October, I have felt your call to serve as your ambassador to the nations.  For several months, Lord, I struggled with this and was unsure of your call. However, You have given me the clarity, and you have given me the strength I thought I would never have.  My journey as an ambassador is just beginning-I leave for Southern Uganda in less than 90 days.  I cannot do it on my own. I pray that you would grant me the grace to represent the Kingdom of Heaven well to the people of Uganda.
Dear Lord,
 I am a pilgrim.  A Pilgrim is someone who has left someplace and is headed to another. In Hebrews 11, after the works of many of your great saints are described, you say, “If they had been thinking of that land from which they had gone out, they would have had opportunity to return.  But as it is, they desire a better country, that is, a heavenly one.” You have made me a pilgrim, Lord, a sojourner on this Earth. To use the imagery of St. Augustine (and before him, the Bible), I have left the City of Man and am en route to the City of God.I seek a homeland (Hebrews 11:14) In this photograph, I am on my way to somewhere new. I have left my baggage behind and have only the Word of God to guide me.  I look forward to the day when I will be in Your presence, my Lord and Savior.
Dear Lord,
“Against you, you only, have I sinned and done what is evil in your sight” (Psalm 51:4).  Lord, I am the biggest sinner I know.  This photograph depicts a black wedding dress.  It once was white, Lord, but in my unfaithfulness to you, I have made the wedding dress impure.  I am like Gomer the prostitute who was consistently unfaithful to her always steadfast husband.  Even though I have blackened the wedding dress, you remain faithful.  In Hosea 2 {READ HOSEA 2 IF YOU HAVEN’T!!!}, you say that you have divorced me from my sin, and you promise to betroth us to you forever in faithfulness and righteousness. Wow. Thank you Lord that though this photograph was meant to show the greatness of my sin, it has ended up revealing the immensity of your incredible saving grace even to a Gomer like myself.
Dear Lord,
Isaiah 1:18 says “Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow.”  With your blood, I am forgiven.  I am white as snow. Thank you Jesus for your sweet mercy. 
Dear Lord,
I am Lydia Ruth Francis. You have made me in your image, and I am set apart for you! I am who you have made me to be {flaws and all}, and that cannot necessarily be portrayed in five images. 
Thank you Jesus for making me and taking me as I am. 
LRF
2 thoughts on “Who Am I? That is a Good Question…

Leave a Reply

